avercat

The Door

Posted on: December 1, 2011

I stand on the threshold of an open door. Terrified. What do I believe? If I cross it, I claim it, I say it out loud, and then I’ll have to support the claim. I’ll have to live it out or be named a fraud.  But what if I already feel like a fraud? And even if they never see, still, a fraudulent heart… So I stand on the threshold of an open door. Terrified. Paralyzed by doubt.  I cannot live this way.

Choosing to trust, I step. Not caring what is seen, I step. Knowing the truth as fact, I step. Receiving Your Word, I step. Believing that You are sovereign and kind, I step. The threshold, 5 steps behind me. Don’t look back, don’t long for the safety on the other side of the door. There is no adventure there, no peace, no life, only numb limbs, a divided heart, and the paranoia that life will end before it ever began. You, Lord, You are the door.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmD85tKwf3k

Leave a Reply

